Forest Friends rely on your generous donation to continue our work.
How can you help today ?

Ogham Alphabet

The Book of Ballymoat sets out some of the secrets of the Beth Luis Nion Alphabet, which was an alphabet with up to 150 different ciphers, trees, animals and colours, which Druids had to master.

The tree alphabet is one of those ciphers, which corresponded with other ciphers also and the ollaves did not wish to make it clear to the uninitiated. The vowels of the Beth Luis Nion represent the five stations of the year, with thirteen weeks between each station, as follows:

A Ailm Winter Solstice Silver Fir
O Onn Summer Equinox Furze
U Ur Summer Solstice Heather
E Edhadh Autumn Equinox Poplar / Aspen
I Ido Eve / Winter Solstice Yew